if me – An Open Source Project

Hello, all. In this blog post, I will be describing an open source project that I found interesting. This project is called if me, as found here: https://github.com/ifmeorg/ifme

if me is an online community that allows people to easily share any mental health experiences with their ‘trusted allies’, in this case, peers, family members, mental health workers, etc. It allows users to share their experiences, as well as document their attitudes and daily moods, as stated on their website: https://www.if-me.org/. It solves the problem of saving and sharing mental health experiences in a safe, convenient way that enables your postings to be viewed by those you trust, as well as kept for future consultation.

While there is no date given, I’m assuming the project was started at least 2 years ago, judging by the dates on some of the Github folders. Aside from the code being on Github, the website is live and running at the link above.

It seems to be written in the following languages: Javascript, Ruby on Rails, React, and Flow. Currently, there are 71 open issues in the Github repo, with a total of 132 contributors.

Finally, it seems as there are many people using this project. The website appears to be very professional and thought out, with a lot of sections, such as a blog, an FAQ, and additional resources. The project has also received various funding grants, so I would imagine they have a decent amount of users using it for their mental health needs.

And thus, that concludes this blog post on if me. It seems like an interesting open source project, with some open issues that anyone can fix.

 

 

Leave a comment