Open Standards and Tests

Hello all, for this lab, we were assigned to read and learn of some test suites in open standards. In this case, it was ECMAScript, a language I had never heard of before. After being given an overview in class, we ran the ECMAScript test suite on our own personal machines. Like many others in my class, all of my tests didn’t pass (6 failed), but seeing as so many others had the same results, I didn’t lose any sleep over it.

After examining the previously-written tests at this link, we were asked to write some test cases of our own as practice. Essentially, I was tasked with converting the tests for TypedArray types to test cases for regular Array types. I looked through the Array and TypedArray tests, and eventually settled on making a few minor changes to the tests in this file. In the end, I ended up with the tests in this file. Overall, in this lab, I learned how to alter tests to help them conform to new test cases.

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment